I was having a conversation the other day with a couple of acquaintances regarding the creative process of writing. Our agreement within this exchange of ideas concluded your thoughts are your thoughts!

I enjoy writing in general, however writing my blog is a special creative space for me. It’s where I’ve given myself permission to have the type of conversations with myself that are non judgmental and not influenced by anything or anyone outside of my own insight, point-of-view and everyday experiences. It’s where I can be real about how I feel. The flip side however, is that I have intentionally opened the window to these conversations for others to hear without the intention or requirement to chime in.

My blog is a free-writing platform where what ever I’m thinking in that moment, space and time is free game for this blank canvas of writing art. In this space I don’t limit myself to what might makes sense or is literally or theologically correct. These are my thoughts in this particular space and time. So if you happen to be passing by and hear something that may challenge your way of thinking or upset you, I offer no apology. Just simply remove yourself from the window of my reality and continue with your life. Everything you read may not be meant for you to read, and that has to be OK!

I’ve entered into a space in my difference where apologies for who I am are no longer necessary. I’ve lived a life filled with both good and bad choices. I’ve had many laughs and even more tears, however I’m thankful for every moment. It’s all a part of my story, therefore I have given myself permission to write about them, with the same intensity in which they happened.

Often times I may be listening to a song and a moment of inspiration will hit me. Or I may be watching one of my favorite classic movies and be inspired to share a thought. Whatever the inspiration, it’s authentic to my life experience. I borrow no others life experiences, for I have not lived their life, therefore don’t carry the licences to expression their moments. I truly feel the ownership of a given moment lends to the authenticity of a written word. You should be able to literally feel the emotion(s) or see the moment(s) in a vivid picture being painted through the intentional use of words which carry the weight of that moment in time.

For me personally, I love to paint portraits with my words. I never want a reader to have to guess or interpret what I’m trying to say, but rather be ushered into that moment through the use of expressive phrasing at a level of transparency which provokes self evaluation of both the writer and reader. True writing comes from a deep place of authenticity. I’ve lived, therefore now I can create!

Join my journey of expression and hopefully find your own voice of expression, whatever that may be.

– JT.